Contact PSPA
Elected Officers

Carl Chaplin

Carl Chaplin, President & First Aid Chair

Carl was originally certified in 1984. At the time he was patrolling at Sugarbush in Vermont. Carl re-certified in 2004 and has been an examiner since 2005. Carl has been an EMT for over 15 years, was a past New Hampshire region Outdoor Emergency Care Administrator, National Ski Patrol Certified (#701) and National Appointment #11618. In New Hampshire he has patrolled at Ragged Mt (APD for 7 years) and now currently patrols full time at Mt Sunapee where he is the Training Officer and a Hill Supervisor. Carl is also the current NSP New Hampshire Region Director and a member of the Eastern Division BOD.

Roddy Ehrlenbach, Vice President

Roddy is a full time professional patroller at Sugarloaf.


Marc Abend

Marc Abend, Secretary & Interview Chair

Marc has been patrolling since 1977 and currently patrols at Loon Mt. He earned his PSPA certification in 1983 and examiner status in 1993. Marc is also a National Ski Patrol Certified member and an OEC IT. Marc is currently serving on the Board of Directors of the National Ski Patrol.

Greg Danti, Treasurer

Greg has been a pro patroller at Loon Mountain since 1988 and was PSPA cirtified in 1997. Greg is both an OEC and Toboggan instructor and is active with the Loon training program. Greg is also National Certified patroller #571. Greg was awarded a yellow star from the National Ski Patrol.

Greg Danti

John Boburchuk

Ted Fitzgerlad, Director for 3 years

Ted is a ptroller from Ragged Mountain.


Marc LeBlond, Director for 2 years

Marc began his patrol career at Sunday River as a volunteer in 1996 and moved to the Sunday River pro patrol in 2004. He has served in a number of roles at Sunday River including Line Patroller, Patrol Area Foreman, and Training Coordinator for both volunteer and pro patrol. He continues to serve as supervisor of Sunday River Ski Patrol’s mountain host team. Marc is an OEC instructor, OET instructor, and OEC Instructor Trainer. He also served as a Senior OEC trainer/evaluator for the Maine Region of NSP. Marc earned PSPA certified in 2008 and NSP certified two years later. He has the unique honor of being certified number 707 for both PSPA and NSP. Marc received a National Ski Patrol Silver Merit Star as runner up for the Outstanding Paid Patroller for 2011-2012. He also received a National Appointment in 2016. He became a PSPA examiner in 2018.


Ben Defroscia, Director for 1 year

Ben is the Ski Patrol Director at Sugarloaf Mountain.

Appointed Directors
(not a complete list)


Carl Chaplin, First Aid Chair

See above.

Drew Formalariei, S&T Chair

Drew is a professional ski patroller at Loon Mountain.


Dave Hill

Dave Hill, Website Chair

Dave was certified in 1999 and became an Examiner in 2000. He has been a professional patroller since 1993 and is a past Patrol Director at Loon Mountain. Dave has received two purple merit stars from the National Ski Patrol and is National Certified #705. Dave continues to patrol at Loon Mountain.

Joe Greenwood, Recert Chair

Joe has been patrolling since 1979 and became PSPA Certified in 2008. He served as the Assistant Patrol Director for 10 years and the Patrol Director for 5 years at Wachusett Mountain. Joe is National Certified (680), National Appointment (10018), NSP Certified examiner, Eastern Division NSP Certified Low Angle Rescue Chair, Eastern Division Staff for Ski and Toboggan, a Senior Trainer Evaluator, Toboggan instructor trainer and OEC instructor trainer. Joe has also earned Blue and Yellow Merit stars as well as a Distinguished Service Award from NSP.

Dave Hill


Ryan Baron, Store Chair

Ryan is a Firefighter/Critical Care Paramedic and a Pro Patroller at Loon Mountain. Ryan has been a ski patroller since 2002, PSPA certified in 2014, and earned his examiner status in 2016. Ryan is also an OEC instructor.

Andy Novick, Legal Advisor

Andy Novick has patrolled at Loon Mountain since 1988 and is a PSPA Certified Patroller and Examiner. Andy serves on the Board of Directors of New England Disabled Sports, is an Eagle Scout, a National Camp School Certified Aquatics Director, a Red Cross Certified Water Safety Instructor, an American Canoe Association Certified Whitewater Kayak Instructor and a Massachusetts licensed EMT. Andy served as the AMC Whitewater Kayak Instruction Chair, for 12 years, as President of the Society of Professional Organized Recreational Tour Staff, for 10 years and held various positions at Cachalot Scout Reservation. Andy has been a trial attorney for 30 years and holds the American Jurisprudence Award in Contract Law. He also taught as an Honors Instructor at California Western School of Law and was the Lead Articles Editor of the International Law Journal. He is the President and Chief Litigator of Novick Law Offices Incorporated; tel. 508-997-4571.

Andy Novick